Cold Swiss Oatmeal

20130305-125531.jpg

I must admit, I am not a yogurt fan. Don’t get me wrong, yogurt is a fantastic food, and if its frozen like icecream, I’m all there. But, something about regular yogurt has never worked for me. I just can’t sit down and eat a half a cup of it for a snack. Maybe it’s the texture (or lack thereof).

A bummer too because I do like getting a daily dose of live active cultures. Shelling out the cash for prebiotic or probiotic supplements is not something your average working family can afford either. So it’s nice to find things like sour cream and butters with live active cultures if you are like me and don’t care for yogurt.

However, I do make this cold swiss oatmeal with yogurt. And unlike eating plain yogurt, I really do love the taste! Its great for breakfast, but I’ve been known to have this for lunch, in the afternoon, or even as a late night snack. Plus I can get a good dose of those probiotics naturally. 🙂

Ingredients
1 c. Old-fashioned Rolled Oats (not instant or quick!)
3/4 c. Vanilla Yogurt
3/4 c. Milk
1 tbsp. Honey

1/4 c. (handful) Dried Currants
1/4 c. (another handful) Dried Cranberries
1/2 Granny Smith Apple (chopped)
1/2 to whole Banana (cut up)

Mix together the oats, yogurt, milk, and honey in a bowl the night before. Let it sit in the refrigerator overnight. The next morning, add the fruit in and mix it all up. You can adjust the amounts of fruit, yogurt, etc to your liking. If its a little thick in the morn, just add more milk or yogurt to thin it out. You can try this with muesli or add nuts too. I’ve made it with steel cut oats and multigrain cereals also. A delish and refreshing start to the morning!

This entry was published on March 5, 2013 at 6:54 pm. It’s filed under Breakfast and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Cold Swiss Oatmeal

  1. health advocation on said:

    yum yumm

Leave a Reply

