Slow Cooked Meatball Soup

20130310-212553.jpg

I grew up with a stay at home mom who always cooked a fresh meal at the end of the day. So, in my younger years, I never really ate meals like pot roast or casseroles that slow cooked in a pan or pot all day. Too be honest, I was quite turned off by it. I admit, I was a was a bit of a food snob at times (bashfully hides) but having two kids and continuing to be a part-time working mom has taught me some lessons. šŸ™‚

I’ve since learned to embrace slow cooking and that relief you get when you step in the door to the warm aroma of dinner waiting after a busy day!

My work day is long though and, with drop off and pick up of the kids, I needed recipes that could get thrown in the pot at 6am and last till 6pm when I would end up plating the meal. And while pot roast is probably one of the most hardy recipes to withstand that much slow heat, I found myself searching the Internet for more unique recipes for our palate.

So here is one of those unique recipes I found and adapted. It very much reminds me of an Italian Wedding soup or at least what one would look like in pictures!

Ingredients
1 lb Meatballs
32 oz Chicken or Beef Broth
4 oz or several handfuls of Baby Spinach
8 oz of Pasta (I usually use Tubettini)

One of the great things about the market I get groceries at is the huge selection we have at the meat and seafood counters. They make fresh uncooked meatballs that I can just purchase, which makes this meal even easier. You can mix your own meatballs or I’ve seen frozen ones you can purchase pre-made. I’m sure they would work just as easy but I’ll be honest and say I’ve never tried that before.

I typically make the noodles the night before and refrigerate them. If your home during the last hour of cooking, you could boil them fresh then.

For the meatballs, I usually like mine around quarter size (a little bit smaller than a golf ball). I also will freeze them the day before and throw them in the crockpot frozen since I am gone all day long.

Toss the meatballs and the broth in and set your slow cooker to low for 8 hours (mine will switch to warm for up to 4 hours after that). If you’re home, a half day on high should do the trick also. For the last 15 min or so, add the spinach so it wilts. Add the noodles last and serve to happy tummies!

This entry was published on March 11, 2013 at 2:24 am. It’s filed under Slow Cooker and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

