Cauliflower Soup

20130330-133832.jpg

Ever buy a head of cauliflower and wonder what on earth you are going to do with all this! I’ve totally been there and that’s exactly why this dish exists. 😉

When I envisioned this soup, I naturally thought of red bell pepper as the complementary flavor. It’s probably best served piping hot in the fall or winter, though I managed to squeeze it in during early spring this year on a chilly day!

Ingredients
1 Small Head of Cauliflower
1/2 Red Bell Pepper
1/2 Onion
28-32oz Chicken Broth
1/2 Pint Heavy Cream
2-3 tbsp Butter
1 cup Potato Flakes

20130330-230248.jpg

If I’m only making this soup, then I try to pick out a fairly small to medium sized cauliflower. If your market only has large ones, you can save some of the florets to use as a side for separate dish later in the week.

Cut up the onions, red bell pepper, and cauliflower (trim off the leaves). You can sauté the onions first if you like, but its not necessary. Put all of the veggies in a large pot and add enough chicken broth to boil it (the vegetables do not need to be fully submerged since they will settle into the pot as they soften). If I’m chasing my kiddos around, I’ll sometimes do this early and let it just sit on medium heat for an hour. Or you can just bring to a boil and then reduce to medium to simmer till soft, about 20 min should do it.

Once its cooked through, scoop out the veggies and place them into a food processor. I like my soup thick, so I only use about 1/2 to 3/4 of the liquid in the pot and discard the rest. Add the cream and butter and purée it. If you are like me and have a small food processor, you’ll probably need to do this in batches. Return the purée to a clean pot (or to the one you just used with any chunks of veggies removed).

Finally, I will use plain potato flakes to thicken the soup. This a little trick of mine, which reminds me that I must post my New England Clam Chowder recipe! This also helps keep my toddler from drizzling soup all over herself during dinner, yay for us both! About 1 cup of potato flakes gets it to the consistency I prefer. Start with a little and keep stirring some in until its as thick as you like. Add salt and pepper as desired. Serve as a full meal or as a side dish.

20130402-123006.jpg

Note: This is also a great soup to pre-make in advance. I’ll often make this a day or two before a long work day and then just heat it up when we get home for a quick homemade meal!

This entry was published on April 2, 2013 at 5:35 pm. It’s filed under Dinner, Main Dish, Side Dish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

