Strawberry Griddle-cakes

While pancakes are traditionally a breakfast choice, I often will make pancakes, waffles, or omelets for dinner. I think my kids might grow up not even realizing pancakes are a breakfast food!

I realized one day that I was out of store bought pancake batter and I scrambled to look online and find a recipe. What I found was pretty good, but it was for very fluffy thick pancakes. We still gobbled it all up, but I decided to take another stab at making pancakes from scratch except with more of a crepe like result. Easy as can be and, honestly, I may never go back to buying pancake mix again. 🙂

20130705-223344.jpg

Ingredients
1 Cup Flour
1 Egg
1 1/4 Cup Milk
1 Tbsp Sugar (white or brown)
1 Tsp Baking Powder
Pinch of Salt
1 Cup Sliced Strawberries
Maple Syrup for Drizzling
Oil or Butter for the Cast Iron Pan

Mix the flour, egg, milk, sugar, baking powder and salt together. Make sure to slice the strawberries thin so they will lay flat when you pour the pancakes. Fold the sliced strawberries into the batter.

20130705-224505.jpg

My cast iron pan is a vital instrument in my kitchen. Urban living limits my grilling ability, so I use this pan for everything from steaks to stir fry to pancakes (hence the griddle-cake). A cast iron pan will get hot fast and retain lots of heat. I keep mine at medium to low heat for this recipe. It may take a few pancakes to get the heat right for your desired outcome.

I also use an aerosol-less canola spray on my pan between each batch of pouring pancakes. Butter can also be used. This makes it super easy to flip the pancakes and prevents batter from sticking to the pan (a.k.a. a huge flipping mess, pun intended). Using a large spoon, pour the batter onto the hot pan to your desire pancake size. I usually make about 3 inch diameter pancakes with 2-3 strawberries in each. Flip when they begin to bubble.

20130705-224741.jpg

For a more traditional thicker pancake, use 1 cup of milk and 1 tbsp of baking powder. Also, this would work well with any favorite fruit, such as apples, peaches or blueberries. My suggestion would be to smash the blueberries a little bit before folding in.

Happy breakfast, lunch or dinner!

This entry was published on July 8, 2013 at 2:20 am. It’s filed under Breakfast, Side Dish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

