Ginger-Spiked Cranberry Sauce

It’s funny how as we grow our tastes change and develop as well. I often wonder if it’s the cook, the ingredients, or even the atmosphere that influences our tastes buds (likely the choice of beverage as well!). As I was growing up, I never touched the cranberry sauce on the table during our festive dinners. Perhaps I tried it, I honestly don’t recall, but even as I entered adulthood I still really didn’t have an acquired taste for cranberry sauce.

Enter this recipe. It was my turn to host the family Thanksgiving meal with the in-laws and I happened to come across a tasting our local market. Occasionally, they actually put together a small tasting plate so I actually had this cranberry relish with a yummy bite of turkey. It was delicious! Oddly enough, I’m not the biggest fan of ginger either, however, the flavor combinations work so well together and the spicy kick from the ginger is a perfect complement. I’ve tweaked the recipe to my likings and just had to share for the fast approaching holidays!

20131119-131525.jpg

Ingredients
10 oz. Whole Fresh Cranberries
1 Apple, Core Removed
1 Mandarin Orange, Sections Halved
(I used a Satsuma)
1 tsp. Fresh Grated Ginger
(up to a tbsp if you like the taste)
1 1/4 c. Orange Juice
1/2 c. Sugar
(up to a cup if you like it sweeter)
1 tsp. Fresh Ground Pepper

Dice the apple (peel the skin also if you prefer not to have the added texture of the skin pieces). Place all ingredients except for the pepper in a small saucepan over medium high heat. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to simmer for about 15 to 20 minutes. The cranberries should have burst and the apple should be soft enough to mash with a fork. It will be a thick chunky sauce. Add some freshly ground pepper last.

20131119-131623.jpg

Honestly, I think this is good warm or cold. And even all by itself (I find myself sneaking tastes in here and there)! While I usually non-traditional menus for the traditional holiday meals, with this relish on the side I am happy to say “bring that turkey on”. Cheers and Happy Holidays!

This entry was published on November 19, 2013 at 11:23 am. It’s filed under Sides and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

