Bacon Wrapped Rainbow Trout

This week my mother-in-law texted me with a foodie ’emergency’ (in her words). It took a few back and forth texts for me to realize what exactly was going on, but in essence she had just found out about a wedding shower that she needed a good and unique recipe for. Apparently, the theme was ‘grillin’ & ‘chillin’ and they were collecting grilling recipes for a cookbook to give to the groom. Now initially I thought she needed to cook something; And given I assumed she meant for a large party on a Friday during lent, I recalled this fantastic recipe I did once on a camping trip. I’m pretty sure I read this recipe in a foodie magazine many years ago. With the little ones still pretty young, I hadn’t been camping in ages, so I nearly forgot about it. But it’s a simple recipe and even though I couldn’t find the source, it was easy enough to remember and pass along. While I was at it, I thought, “Hey, it’s a beautiful weekend. Let’s grill.”

So, here you have it!

Ingredients
4 Whole Rainbow Trout (butterflied & bones removed, head & tail optional)
1 Large Lemon (sliced thin)
2 Tbsp Dried Chervil
8 Slices Bacon
Salt and Pepper

20140405-181022.jpg

Rinse the fish and lay them on a plate opened like a book. Sprinkle the trout generously with salt and pepper. Place the lemon slices on one side of each fish and then sprinkle about 1/2 tablespoon (per fish) of the chervil over the flesh and lemons. Close the trout over the lemon filling and wrap the body with 2 slices of bacon per fish. Secure with toothpicks if needed.

20140405-182013.jpg

Place the fish on a heated grill. Flip them occasionally until the trout are nicely browned, bacon is crispy, and the flesh is white and flakey.

20140405-182203.jpg

Serve with some grains, veggies, and cold beer or wine! Enjoy!

20140405-182314.jpg

This entry was published on April 5, 2014 at 1:07 pm. It’s filed under Dinner, Main Dish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

